STEM Contact Information

HCC STEM Departments

HCC district is composed of six major campuses – Central, Southwest, Northwest, Southeast, Northeast and Coleman.  

The STEM administration is centralized with Deans, Chairs and Associated Chairs whose offices are located at specific campuses.

Following is the contact information for the administration and their departments. Feel free to consult with them if you have questions regarding your STEM education and career. Counselors at each college may also help you while you are at HCC or if you are planning to transfer.

Deans for STEM

Dean of Natural Science and Horticulture

Tosha Barclay
SW - Stafford
#LHUB 207
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-6140
tosha.barclay@hccs.edu

 

Dean of Engineering Center of Excellence

John Vasselli
Engineering Center of Excellence
HCC Alief Campus
Room A420
2811 Hayes Road, Houston, 77082
713-718-5352
John.Vasselli@hccs.edu 

 

Dean of Mathematics

Mr. Tim Sever
SE Campus
Room 101, Angela Morales Bldg
713-718-6453
timor.sever@hccs.edu 

 

Biology

Chair

Dr. Shadi Kilani
Rm S113, Scarcella Bldg
10041 Stafford Road
Stafford, TX 77477
ph: 713-718-7035
shadi.kilani@hccs.edu 

 

Associate Chairs

Dr. Gizelle Davis
NE Campus
Rm 227, 555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013
ph: 713-718-6949
gizelle.davis@hccs.edu 

Dr.  Tom Loesch
NW Campus
Rm 319, West Houston Institute
Rm 801, Spring Branch Campus
ph: 713-718-7340
tom.loesch@hccs.edu

Dr. Chukwuemeka Onyewuchi Opara
Central & Coleman Campuses
Rm LHSB 402, 1300 Holman 
Houston, Tx 77004
ph: 713-718-5249
chukwuemeka.opara@hccs.edu 

Dr. Anna Koshy
SE Campus
Room 124.2B, Felix Morales Bldg
6815 Rustic Street
Houston, Texas 77087
ph: 713-718-5659
anna.koshy@hccs.edu
 

 

Chemistry

Chair

Dr. Grace Zoorob
Chemistry Dept office
NW Campus
Room 329, West Houston Institute (WHI)
2811 Hayes Road
Houston, Texas 77082
713-718-5776
713-718-2501
grace.zoorob@hccs.edu 

 

Associate Chair

Dr. Jyothi Singh
SW campus
713-718-5818
jyothi.singh@hccs.edu

 

Natural Sciences

Chair

Cyril O. Anoka
Natural Sciences (Physics/Astronomy/Geology/Horticulture/Technical Mathematics)
NW - Spring Branch Campus
1010 W. Sam Houston Parkway N.
Houston, TX 77043
ph: 713-718-5638
cyril.anoka@hccs.edu

 

 

Associate Chair

Dr. Kumela Tafa
Central Campus
LHSB 402
1300 Holman
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-5569
kumela.tafa@hccs.edu 

 

Mathematics

Chair

Mr. Mahmoud Basharat
SW - Stafford Campus
Room N108, Scarcella Bldg.
Cash Road, Stafford, TX
713-718-2538
mahmoud.basharat@hccs.edu 

 

Associate Chairs

Dr. Jaime Hernandez
Central Campus
Rm. 369, San Jacinto Building
1300 Holman Street
Houston, TX 77004
713-718-7772
jaime.hernandez@hccs.edu 

Mr. Hien Nguyen
NE - Codwell Campus
Room 105, Codwell Hall
555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013

713-718-2440
hient.nguyen@hccs.edu 

Dr. Susan Fife
NW - Katy Campus
22910 Colonial Parkway
Katy, Texas 77493
713-718-7241
susan.fife@hccs.edu